Requested to write a review by a predatory journal?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Bored_Conscious

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I joined a lab recently and my PI requested that I write a literature review. He says that he receives requests from journals occasionally to write reviews and he will hand one off to me.

Well a couple weeks ago he passed on a review request to me from the Journal of European Society of Medicine. I believe their official journal is called the Medical Research Archives.
(Medical Research Archives)

I didn't think much of it initially, but today I decided to take a look at the journal that requested the submission and I found links (European Society of Medicine solicitations) that seem to make me think the journal is predatory.

I have my suspicions that this is a predatory journal.

This is my first project assigned to me by my PI. I'm not entirely sure if he is even aware that this is a predatory journal or not and I don't know how to approach him regarding this. I don't want to be rude and accuse him of wasting my time by writing an illegitimate review or whatever. It's highly likely the cost of publication will be exorbitant and the fact that it most likely won't even be indexed into pubmed is disheartening.

What should I do?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Okay, well I was able to find "Medical Research Archives" in this predatory journals list: https://archive.fo/9MAAD that I found another SDN user linked awhile ago to check if the journals were predatory.

What should I tell my PI? Should I go forward with writing the review or request a new review/project?