Research and teaching as a PA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

confused undergrad

Reaction score
Hello!

I am an undergrad student who is considering applying to PA school. I was wondering if it's possible for PAs to do research and/or teach, like MDs can? I have read that it is more common for PAs who also have PhDs to do research, than "just" PAs. Is there anyone here that is a PA that does research or knows PAs that do research and/or teach?

Thank you in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

several PA students that i have rotated with as a med student are getting their doctorates so they can teach. I'm sure that you could do research if you were affiliated with a university. RN's do research and publish. Don't see why a PA could not.

Reactions: 1 user
several PA students that i have rotated with as a med student are getting their doctorates so they can teach. I'm sure that you could do research if you were affiliated with a university. RN's do research and publish. Don't see why a PA could not.

Thanks for the response! Do you know if the PA students were dual PA/PhD students?

Members don't see this ad :)
No. They were Doctor of Medical Sciences degree students.

No. They were Doctor of Medical Sciences degree students.

Oh okay, I am not familiar with the Doctor of Medical Sciences degree. Do you know if this degree is obtained at the same time as the masters in PA degree, or if it's something that's done afterwards?
Thank you

Oh okay, I am not familiar with the Doctor of Medical Sciences degree. Do you know if this degree is obtained at the same time as the masters in PA degree, or if it's something that's done afterwards?
Thank you

I believe its like ~2-3 semesters of extra work on top of the Master you get with a PA. I can ask one of the PA students when i see them again in a few weeks.