Research dilemma, need advice?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

panvard92

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I'm a freshman who just started volunteering about 10 hours in a lab. It's a huge lab, researching on a topic I'm interested in, and is one of the top labs in terms of publications and stuff. The only thing is though, is that I'm a "volunteer" so even though I'm actually doing research (like no dishwashing or any of the other beginner lab stuff), I'm not getting paid or anything (even though I do have work study).

There is a lab working closely with this one though where I might have a chance to get a job, but it's with a prof who just started working here, and who still has a very small lab (not that I'm against that). I don't know much about the funding he has, and it seems as though it might take some time for him to get established and develop a network.

With these two scenarios, I don't know whether I should stick with the lab I'm in as a volunteer and hope that a UG student position will open up in a couple years (taking 10-20 hours from my life to volunteer in a lab doesn't make sense to me atm), or just go to the other lab and hope that it'll be just as good....any ideas?

Members don't see this ad.

what is your reasoning for doing research?

So I'm a freshman who just started volunteering about 10 hours in a lab. It's a huge lab, researching on a topic I'm interested in, and is one of the top labs in terms of publications and stuff. The only thing is though, is that I'm a "volunteer" so even though I'm actually doing research (like no dishwashing or any of the other beginner lab stuff), I'm not getting paid or anything (even though I do have work study).