research diversity

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PBandJ

hot dog back in action!
Moderator Emeritus
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi, i'm a newbie here!

i have a few questions for those md/phd experts out there. i'm planning on applying for mstp programs for fall 2007, and i just took the MCAT last saturday, so i won't have those scores for a few weeks.

anyways, my question concerns research diversity. i just graduated (may 2005) with my BS in biomedical engineering and i have a good amount of research experience under my belt, but it's rather eclectic. i did 3 summers as a research assistant at u. pittsburgh in molecular biology / nephrology (2 pubs, 1 first author). then i did my senior thesis in biomedical materials research, using immunochemical and microfabrication techniques to generate a rapid STD testing prototype. now i have taken a job as a bioengineer/medical research assistant for a research nursing home project, studying cardiovascular factors for falls in the elderly.

do you think having such a variety of research will help or hurt my chances for md/phd programs? i'm ultimately planning to pursue biomedical engineering as my phd track. thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

scentimint said:
hi, i'm a newbie here!

i have a few questions for those md/phd experts out there. i'm planning on applying for mstp programs for fall 2007, and i just took the MCAT last saturday, so i won't have those scores for a few weeks.