MD Residency application with a low Step1 score

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mangobrz

Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I am a medical student attending a state medical school in the US. I got an unexpectedly low Step1 score (208) and I am distraught about it. I am interested in Cardiology right now so planning to apply to IM residencies (haven't completely ruled out surgery though). I am currently doing a research year between my M2 and M3 years and will probably have 2 papers out of this period. I still have all of my rotations/clerkships and Step2 left.

I am looking for advice about the following:
- how to counteract my Step1 score
- how to do well on rotations/clerkships to get "honors" in them
- my chances at a top IM program, especially in NYC or Boston (I was really hoping to apply to top programs but now it seems that my chances are very slim of getting an interview)
- any other residency specialties I should consider due to my low score

Members don't see this ad.

Hi everyone!

I am a medical student attending a state medical school in the US. I got an unexpectedly low Step1 score (208) and I am distraught about it. I am interested in Cardiology right now so planning to apply to IM residencies (haven't completely ruled out surgery though). I am currently doing a research year between my M2 and M3 years and will probably have 2 papers out of this period. I still have all of my rotations/clerkships and Step2 left.

- my chances at a top IM program, especially in NYC or Boston (I was really hoping to apply to top programs but now it seems that my chances are very slim of getting an interview)