Residency probability for old IMGs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

do US IMG status help a little

• yes

Votes: 16 48.5%
  • no

Votes: 11 33.3%
  • may be

Votes: 6 18.2%

• Total voters

Dranonymous814

Reaction score
I graduated in 2013, step 1 in 220s, Ck 230s. CS done, doing step 3 now, planning to finish by April. US IMG. have few rotations. Do i stand any chance in Match 2020 IM residency, really worried, any input is much appreciated. Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Don't base your decision to apply on the answers you get on an anonymous poll. Do you have a chance? Yes, there is always a chance. What is your individual probability of getting a spot? Very hard to say.

My advice is, try to do well on Step 3, apply as widely as you can afford to (I suggest >200 programs) and see what happens. Consider throwing some applications at a less competitive specialty also (maybe FM). Good luck.

Reactions: 1 users
Don't base your decision to apply on the answers you get on an anonymous poll. Do you have a chance? Yes, there is always a chance. What is your individual probability of getting a spot? Very hard to say.

My advice is, try to do well on Step 3, apply as widely as you can afford to (I suggest >200 programs) and see what happens. Consider throwing some applications at a less competitive specialty also (maybe FM). Good luck.

Thank you, yes that is the plan. Whatever it takes, Going to do it

Members don't see this ad :)
I graduated in 2013, step 1 in 220s, Ck 230s. CS done, doing step 3 now, planning to finish by April. US IMG. have few rotations. Do i stand any chance in Match 2020 IM residency, really worried, any input is much appreciated. Thanks

What have you been doing since graduation (7 years by the time of the match)?

Reactions: 1 users
Your YOG will far outweigh (negatively) any minor benefit you'll have from not needing a visa.

Reactions: 1 user