Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Retail Drug Stores

Discussion in 'Pre-Pharmacy' started by GatorRX, Apr 20, 2004.

1. GatorRX

GatorRX Junior Member
    5+ Year Member

I've seen a lot of "complaints" (if I may call it that) on this board regarding how tough it is to become a pharm tech with no experience. Does anyone know any retail drug stores that actually DO hire with no experience (such as Walgreens, Eckerd, CVS, etc)? If you can't get a position being a pharm tech, I suppose the next two best things to get some experience is to be a cashier in the pharmacy or to volunteer at a hospital? Any and all inputs are greatly appreciated! Thanks!

2. dontworry

dontworry Dont Worry, Be Happy
    7+ Year Member

Hi, i got a job at a Rite Aid having no experience. Though they did know i would be starting pharmacy school. It probably depends on your location though. Some areas may have alot of pharm students and tech jobs are already taken, or there are probably areas that are in need of techs. Maybe just taking a regular cashier job in a store that has a pharmacy and discuss with the management the possibility of transfering to the pharmacy eventually. I was pretty lucky, i had needed to get a job but was avoiding it , then the Rite Aid down the street had a sign for a pharmacy cashier, i went down and they were looking for a new tech. Perhaps try a supermarket as well, or hospital and keep calling around or stopping in places to find one.

3. Superflyjsc

Superflyjsc Senior Member
    7+ Year Member