Retail pharmacists- what's the normal error rate?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

crossurfingers

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a new pharmacist for Walgreens and have only been one for 2 months (been working full time), and I've already had 4 documented errors on my file. I've probably made more that just haven't been caught. Of the ones that were reported one wasn't really my fault (tech sold a prescription that I verified to the wrong patient), two of them were incorrect quantities, and the last one that's been bothering me the most was having another patient's prescription bottle in another patient's bag. :( I try to be really careful but I seem to make errors despite that. I've been looking at our store reports and it seems like other pharmacists there only have about 5 or 6 reported errors a year. This just makes me feel like I'm doing a crappy job and maybe this just isn't for me. Not to mention the fact that now we get written up for dispensing incorrect packages. I just started and now I'm scared of eventually getting fired because of something like this and having a hard time finding another job as well. Any input on my situation would be great.

Members don't see this ad.

I'll check my notes later, but if I remember correctly, a 99.9% accuracy rate (0.1% error) will directly kill at least 1 patient during your career. A 99.5% rate will kill closer to 10. It gets really ugly after that. Is this your first time working in a pharmacy?

Members don't see this ad :)
It kinda saddens me that all mistakes are treated the same whether it's wrong quantity or prescriber (less serious) VS wrong direction or frequency (much more serious). Or am I wrong? Are every mistake treated equally?

Having tech errors count against you sucks. Where the quanity errors entered wrong or filled wrong?