Retake Calc I, or take Calc II?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Johnny Blaze

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a freshman and received credit for Calc I through AP, but I know most medical schools don't want pre-reqs to be completed with AP. Would it be best to retake Calc I, or to just take Calc II (Or both?)?

Also-I read that some schools even recommend a computer science class.. would it actually help out to take this?

Members don't see this ad.

I would just take Calc I again for the easy A, then 2.

Members don't see this ad :)
don't take calc 2 unless you HAVE to. worst class ever.

Wouldnt it be good to take Calc II so I can have a broader range of schools to apply to?

i dont think there are more than 5 schools that want calc II, and that might be an overestimate.

Calc 1 is probably the only AP pre-req that most medical school haven't a problem with. Take calc 1 if you want and follow up with statistics or biostats. Or just take statistics.

don't take calc 2 unless you HAVE to. worst class ever.

Nothing personal, but I would not want someone who cannot handle calc 2 to be my doctor. I hope you agree that human body is much more complicated than calc 2.

Nothing personal, but I would not want someone who cannot handle calc 2 to be my doctor. I hope you agree that human body is much more complicated than calc 2.
:laugh: You are rilly dum, fo rill.

Wouldnt it be good to take Calc II so I can have a broader range of schools to apply to?

Unless you are terrible at math, I agree. You don't want to exclude yourself from schools before you even start. However, if you're going to get a C in the class, then don't take it.

Like the others said, take Calc I again for the easy A (it will up your math and science GPA for AMCAS) and then take II.

did i say i couldn't handle it?

please note chops' post.