Retake the GRE?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RiRi1234

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! I was hoping to get some feedback regarding my GRE scores.

I was hoping to get 160 on both sections of the GRE. I ended up with 157V and 158Q. I am not sure about the essays at this point.

I think with a little more time I could do a bit better on each section, but I was wondering if that would change my application enough to make it worth retaking. As far as other aspects of my application:

I do not have a good GPA from my university (3.33). I have not calculated my pGPA, but with retakes of some classes I have all A's in those classes except for A&P 1 and 2 (both B's). After I graduated I retook some classes at a local CC, and have been looking at schools that will accept the most recent grades.

I have observation hours in various settings, including 2 hospitals, pediatrics, outpatient ortho, geriatrics.

I will have solid LORs from PTs I have known for 2+ years. Some volunteer work throughout undergrad, but not many hours since graduating.

Any advice would be appreciated! Thanks a bunch!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I personally wouldn't bother retaking it. You have met, if not exceeded the requirements for every school. As long as your writing score is a 4 or better and you met the GPA requirements for the schools you intend to apply or have applied to, it isn't necessary.

Reactions: 1 users
I personally wouldn't bother retaking it. You have met, if not exceeded the requirements for every school. As long as your writing score is a 4 or better and you met the GPA requirements for the schools you intend to apply or have applied to, it isn't necessary.
I agree. This is good advice.

Members don't see this ad :)
Thank you both for your reply! I don't mind studying again and trying to get a better score. Do you think getting into the 160s would help my chances?