Rough Semester

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

phnerd1105

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey Guys,

Ive been a member here for a while. However, I realized that my user name wasn't really concealing who I was, so I just changed it. Anyway, I'm a good student in school. I don't slack off, and I work my ass off. This semester was the hardest semester I have ever had, as I took an anatomy lab, a cellular biology class and biochem. I still worked my ass off, got an A in anatomy. However, I missed an A in biochem by 10 points (the hardest class offered at my school). Also, my cell bio class was totally unfair. I could have gotten an A if I did well on the final. Instead, my professor made the final ridiculous and I ended up getting a C in the class. I am a junior, so I have one more semester to go. I calculated that my sgpa and cgpa at application are going to be 3.54 and 3.63. This is really below my standards, and I know the standards of many med schools. In terms of extracurriculars, I have tons of research, shadowing, leadership, and I will be doing more volunteering next semester. Essentially, my EC's are the only solid part of my app so far. I am taking my MCAT in March as well. I know that its hard to tell my chances without the MCAT, but is my GPA going to screw me over? I am an IL resident, and went to a really difficult private school if that helps.

Thanks so much!

Members don't see this ad.

The GPA may or may not be a big deal. Where are you trying to get into medical school at? What tier/ranking is your college/university?

But for a basic answer, yes it matters. Check AAMC statistics for the statistics for each years GPA/MCAT success rate. Higher GPAs indicate a better chance (but not drastically).

My advice? Shoot for upper 30s on the MCAT. Your GPA can be overcome by other aspects.