Rough start...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Geno0513

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone! My name is Geno - I am a Sophomore majoring in Psychology.

I am what most people refer to as an academic "late-bloomer." My first year and half was riddled with poor grades (D's and C's, no F's thankfully) and a handful of withdraws.

My brother had passed away and I was going through some major life style changes. Since then I've reinstated my passion for education and discovered my dream to be a psychiatrist again.

I went from having a 1.9GPA first freshman semester, to a 2.8gpa currently - huge upward trend.

I haven't taken too many science related classes yet but I did manage to pull out a B+ in general chemistry this last year.

To further complicate matters, I've been to two different universities and one community college (I'm at now). There was a variety financial problems, nothing grade or performance related.

I would like advice to pursuing medical school. I understand my GPA needs to climb quite a bit more, but I am concerned that after I obtain my B.S. I will need to take a few more semesters to clear science credits - how do medical schools see this?

Any advice is appreciated :)

Members don't see this ad.

retake your C and D grades and you will be fine for DO school. Forget about MD

Little confused as to why? I can certainly get my GPA above 3.5 by gradation.

Members don't see this ad :)
Little confused as to why? I can certainly get my GPA above 3.5 by gradation.

go ahead an go for it but with a first year gpa of 2.8 and a B+ in an intro science class, the assumption that you will get a 4.0 while adding a lot more difficult science classes is presumptuous.

But for real...go for it. If it doesn't seem to be happening, a few strategic retakes and you are a slamming candidate for DO (if your mcat is reasonable)