Rural Focused MD Schools

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MusicianDoctor

Reaction score
Hi all,

I have extensive experience with providing rural healthcare and education, and I'm looking at applying to medical schools that have a focus on rural medicine. I'm aware that a lot of DO schools are rurally focused and I plan on applying to several, as well as taking advantage of the linkage to one through my SMP. However, I'm also wanting to apply to some MD schools and have had some trouble finding sources on which ones have an emphasis on rural medicine?

I've heard UNR and Mercer University thrown around, but it seems that they're not OOS friendly from what I've seen?

Thanks so much for the insight and advice in advance :giggle:

Edit: I'll be a Virginia resident by the end of my SMP!

Members don't see this ad.

the issue with most rural focused schools is that they have strong IS preference.

Reactions: 2 users
the issue with most rural focused schools is that they have strong IS preference.
Would a rurally focused medical school be more OOS friendly if I had 1000+ hours of experience in rural health and education in their state?

I have several thousands of hours of clinical experience and patient care in rural hospitals spread across a few different states, and even had a stint as a public high school music teacher in a rural community. I also grew up in a rural community (population of 92 people) and faced rural medical issues in a state that I've since moved away from after finishing my undergrad.

Although I wouldn't be a current resident of any of the states I had the aforementioned experiences in, I feel that I could make an argument that I have strong "rurally related" ties to the state and was a resident at one point?

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)