Schools that are known for good surgical matches?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

GBCrzzyy

The moon is just the back of the sun.
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! I've been thinking about whether or not I will go the MD or DO route and I have pretty much decided that I want to go DO for multiple reasons. However, my future interests are in surgery mostly and I know that DO programs are generally more well known for family practice. Which DO schools are known for having good surgery matches? I don't think it helps to know but I'm a MA resident.

Thanks so much!

Members don't see this ad.

Hello! I've been thinking about whether or not I will go the MD or DO route and I have pretty much decided that I want to go DO for multiple reasons. However, my future interests are in surgery mostly and I know that DO programs are generally more well known for family practice. Which DO schools are known for having good surgery matches? I don't think it helps to know but I'm a MA resident.

Thanks so much!

You should always try for the MD cycle before considering DO. It makes your life a hell of a lot easier in the long run.

PCOM, DMU, KCU, Rowan, ATSU, TCOM, and Touro-CA come to mine in terms of having a decent number of surgical matches every year.

Agree with @AlteredScale with those schools, and I would add RVU to that list. It is worth remembering though that getting surgery as a DO will take about the same amount of effort coming from any school and that any school can take you where you want to go. For example, LMU-DCOM had an ACGME ortho match at LSU this year and everyone loves to bash on LMU

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
edited

Last edited:
Could you elaborate on this? are you specifically talking matching residencies? From the patient side of things, they really don't care that much so you must be talking in terms of logisitics as a physician.