Scrambled into Anes

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Valvool

5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a fourth year student who failed to match into EM. My board scores and grades are excellent and I am still not sure why I did not match. I had to SOAP Mon-Wed of this week. I applied widely to specialties I felt paralleled well with EM or that I interest in, and I applied to several Anes programs for that reason. Procedures, intubations, lines, etc--those are my favorite aspects of ER medicine. On Wed, thankfully, I had ten offers, including multiple offers at several Anesthesiology programs, a Diagnostic Radiology position, and numerous positions in FM, IM, and Peds. I ended up choosing an Anes program and, while I am still adjusting to my new reality, today I am relatively satisfied with my decision.

I have four weeks left in medical school and it's basically open--I could take vacation in April, or choose to do another clinical rotation. Since I haven't had much anesthesiology exposure, I wonder if I should forego the vacation and do four weeks of Anes? Or does it even matter at this point? For multiple reasons, I don't plan to reapply to EM next year--I struggled with my decision to apply to EM to start with because my interests were so varied and I saw myself being happy doing any number of things. I was excited about EM, but I also loved other specialties--at the end of third year I even requested a second meeting with the dean to discuss whether EM was right for me. So perhaps I am not as heartbroken as someone who had their heart absolutely set on EM.

I was really looking forward to vacation in April and cringe at the thought of giving it up, and I am showing up for an Anes residency on July 1st regardless, so I wonder if doing four weeks of Anes would make a difference at this point. Just wanted to get your perspectives on this.

Members don't see this ad.