Medical Second cycle with little luck, should I retake the MCAT?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBoneDoctah

Volunteer Staff
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've worked very hard throughout undergrad and none of it is paying off. Absolutely nothing. Earned a solid 3.9 GPA and a 512 MCAT (129/126/129/128), and have solid clinical/research/volunteering/leadership, and had my app critiqued by several individuals. My PS was also vetted by multiple eyeballs. I have no red flags. When I applied last cycle for the first time (I'm an Asian FL student btw), I received a last-minute late March II from USF Morsani. I was stoked since it was my top choice. However, everyone who interviews after January at that school pretty much gets waitlisted so I got waitlisted too, and unfortunately got the ax in July. Now again this cycle, I have 0 MD IIs ( Applied to 13 schools with 1 R so far) but was lucky to get an II from KCU, a solid DO school. I just don't understand why I can't get into one of my FL MD schools. It's especially frustrating to see peers with far lower scores get into schools like FIU that I really want to go to.

Last year, I called Iowa CCOM for post-II feedback. They told me to retake the MCAT. I thought they were crazy, especially since I was over their 25th percentile for accepted students, but now I'm considering it, especially since the average matriculant MCAT for Asian Males is nearing a 514 now. I know I'm capable of doing much better than a 512, so I'm considering to start studying soon and take it around May. If I get an acceptance this cycle then I guess I'm a lucky man. If not, then I'll (hopefully) have better numbers to work with for a 3rd cycle. My current MCAT will also expire in 2022
What are your ECs? What did you do and how many hours? Shadowing? What was your school list?

I would not retake your MCAT as that is not the issue here. Retaking would look bad and show bad judgement on your part.