should i apply this year, or should i wait till next year?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mikexima

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
here is the reality of things, i am by no means ready to apply this year. i feel like i am rushing into everything just to apply. please help me cuz i am going nuts here. a quick background

3 year community college GPA : 2.78
4 Year university GPA (2 years completed, going into 3rd, senior year): 3.46
total GPA: 2.99

yes my GPA sucks but thats not the end of things.

my application is almost complete, i will be submitting it next friday. i have NEVER taken the DAT's, im taking them end of august as im studying for it right now. i dont have ANY Letters of recommendation. 2 teachers are writing me one and they will be ready end of august.i have shadowed for 500 hours and have note ready ! im planning to apply to 30 schools but with my 2.99 GPA i prolly need a 24 on the DAT to pull it off. thats gonna be hard. i will be graduating with a BA in biology spring of 08. i havent taken biochem, upper english literature classes or any arts. plan to do all these before i graduate. so here is the situation. should i still apply this year? i can have all my transcripts, dat scores and letters in AADSAS by end of august and send application this coming friday. or should i just study for the DAT's this summer, the entire next year and take DAT's like april of 08. mean time take 25 units and get straight A's (i can do it, im very smart but i dont know how to manage my time). that will boost my GPA to 3.16 and hopefully i can get a 21+ DAT score where as if i take it next month, ill prolly get 18-19. then i can send my application in 06/01 with a good DAT score and 3.16 gpa.