Should I Become a Doctor?

explodingface

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! My name is Rebecca, I'm seventeen and am currently a senior in high school. A few years ago I realized that I would love to be a doctor - I love helping people and I feel that doing it for a living would be immensely rewarding (the pay is another bonus).

However, I have heard that becoming a doctor is not as good of a career choice recently as it was in the past. I've heard that the debt from student loans is overwhelming, and that salaries are dropping. I of course want to help people, but the thought of doing as much school work as a student has to do and acquiring as much debt as a student does makes me wonder if it's even worth it.

I'm currently taking Honors Anatomy and Physiology, as well. I love the class - it's very challenging but I enjoy it greatly. I feel that I can live up to the expectations I will be required to meet, but am very worried if this is a career choice I should pursue.

Please tell me your thoughts on the issue, I would really appreciate feedback. Thank you for reading.

Members don't see this ad.

No one can tell you if you should become a doctor or not. That's your job.

Hello! My name is Rebecca, I'm seventeen and am currently a senior in high school. A few years ago I realized that I would love to be a doctor - I love helping people and I feel that doing it for a living would be immensely rewarding (the pay is another bonus).

However, I have heard that becoming a doctor is not as good of a career choice recently as it was in the past. I've heard that the debt from student loans is overwhelming, and that salaries are dropping. I of course want to help people, but the thought of doing as much school work as a student has to do and acquiring as much debt as a student does makes me wonder if it's even worth it.