Medical Should I disclose bipolar disorder type 1 to programs?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mr.Smile12

Admissions advisor
Staff member
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a medical graduate diagnosed with Bipolar type 1 disorder. I am a typical BPD Type 1 patient with textbook symptoms of mania and depression with a period of remission with lithium for 2 years. After I stopped lithium, I started developing depressive symptoms. Conditions in my personal life and my impulsiveness led me to a breakdown in Jan/2017 for which I was hospitalized. I have been erratic in my behavior since then and finally stabilized with Lamotrigine and Quetiapine for the past year. I have applied for residency in Pathology and Psychiatry this year but did not disclose my Bipolar disorder in my application. I got a few interviews. I feel confident about a couple of programs that I match. I have been thinking about this for the past 3 months. I have the following questions:
  1. Should I submit a rank order list because I did not disclose in my application any limitations?
  2. Should I write to all program directors now before the match and disclose my condition?
  3. If I submit and match in residency if the program finds out what will happen? Will they retract the offer or give it to someone else or will the spot go unfilled? Will there be any legal action?