Not open for further replies.

Mr.Smile12

Admissions advisor
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.
Hey all,

I am currently trying to decide between applying to a postbacc program or going to community college in order to complete my prerequisites for med school. Here is a little bit about me.

I graduated from HS in 2012 and had worked various jobs and in 2016 I joined the Philadelphia Police Department. I then graduated from college in 2018 with a 3.94 GPA in Criminal Justice. I worked as a police officer for the last four years and recently deployed with the United States Army; I return back to the states in later on this year. I have been trying to figure out the best route that is also cost effective for me. I cannot quit my job, right now, but am set on pursuing medicine as my career. I want to know what your guys' opinion is of DIY postbacc program?

Also, I am aware that a CJ major is not as challenging as a science major but in my defense, it made the most sense at the time. lol
First, thank you for all the service and work you have done to guard our community and nation.

I don't know about your eligibility for armed-forces-friendly policies like the GI Bill or any other scholarships by being a first-responder. You may want to check on that first because that will help us determine the rationale behind any decision you take. I also don't know what your options are with military medicine.

Ideally you should try to start with a traditional four-year college/institution, but I know many people have to take CC coursework because of expense or even seat availability. You should investigate how CC advisors will help you transition to a 4-year institution because ultimately you will need to consider taking classes at that level.

MusicDOc124

Staff member
Volunteer Staff
7+ Year Member
Reaction score