Should I Give Up Now?.....

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dr. USC

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a current first-semester freshman at the University of Southern California, majoring in human biology. I just switched my major from Chemistry to Human Biology. Although I am only a freshman, I am extremely stressed about my grades and GPA already. I have never been a bad student (all A's in high school). However, for some reason, I am feeling like I am failing already. I am worried that I am going to get a low first semester GPA with a miserable science GPA. Currently, I believe I will get a C in calculus and a B+ or A- in General Chemistry. I know it is still early, but I am wondering if there is any hope. I did leave school for two weeks this semester due to a family emergency, so I know my next semester grades will definitely be better, but I am still not happy.

Members don't see this ad.

Oh no! I got an A- in Gen Chem first semester freshman year and a C in a difficult class that isn't usually a prereq for medical school! Better give up!

(obviously don't give up unless you dont actually think you can handle the stress of being a Dr. Considering its your first semester of college, I think you'll get adjusted if you give it a chance.)

Members don't see this ad :)
Probably not a bad idea to take down the picture of you and your mom also for anonymity. For what it's worth I got a 2.8 first semester and ended up graduating with a 3.8 after working my ass off to get pretty much straight As

Reactions: 2 users
You don't need a 4.0 to get into medical school.

Reactions: 7 users