Should I go to UCSF or reapply?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

GreatHambino

Membership Revoked
Removed
5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an international student. Therefore, I am not eligible for federal loans and must take out private loans. Prior to this application cycle, I had a co-signer who was willing to help me secure loans for at least the 1st year. However, due to unforeseen events, I no longer have a co-signer and will most likely not be able to find one.

So far, I've had 4 interviews and got invited to interview at UCSF. I'd like to go UCSF because UCSF is a great school and one of my top choices. However, due to the current circumstances, since I am unlikely to finance my education, I'm contemplating if I should go to the interview. If I can't afford my education, is it worth going to an interview? I would have to take 2 days off of work (which is not too big of a deal since my company is lenient with taking days off), but the cost of flying and staying at least a night in SF would cost at least $700.

FYI, I am likely to become a permanent resident soon, and I will be eligible for federal loans if I reapply during the 2018 cycle. Although I will be bummed out that I won't matriculate in the near future, postponing a year isn't too bad either.

So,

1. If I do NOT go to the interview, will the school look at me less favorably come next cycle when I reapply?

2. Should I go to the interview anyway?

3. Do you think it's better to:
a. Find a co-signer (if I can) and take out at least one year's worth of private loans (and then transition to federal loans once I become a permanent resident)?
b. Postpone my career for 1 year and borrow money from the government for 4 years? I don't know how difficult reapplying is but I can guess that it sucks.

Members don't see this ad.