Should I graduate undergrad early and do a masters?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PhaCha

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a freshman college student, and because of the amount of credits I have, I can graduate in 2.5-3 years with a double/triple major in chemistry, biology, and biochemistry. Should I do this and spend the next year getting a masters degree in chem/bio? I do not see the point of staying an extra year and taking classes that will not really help me (assuming my final GPA is good).

Members don't see this ad.

Why get a masters

Reactions: 1 user
Regarding clinical experience and internships, I will doing plenty of those over the summer and while I am taking classes.

Members don't see this ad :)
I was/am in the same dilemma actually. I've decided not to do a masters because I've often been told, multiple degrees do not get you into medical school. Try to keep your GPA above 3.7/3.8 and then take the gap year to fill up on volunteering and clinical exposure. You'd save time with your age, etc. Pursue a masters only if you are interested in something and are passionate about it. Pursuing a masters to increase chances of acceptance, is silly.

I was/am in the same dilemma actually. I've decided not to do a masters because I've often been told, multiple degrees do not get you into medical school. Try to keep your GPA above 3.7/3.8 and then take the gap year to fill up on volunteering and clinical exposure. You'd save time with your age, etc. Pursue a masters only if you are interested in something and are passionate about it. Pursuing a masters to increase chances of acceptance, is silly.

Interesting. What about graduating early and applying straight to med school instead assuming I have my GPA and experience in check? I have been told that applying young to medical school is bad because of maturity, but I am not quite sure what to believe.