Should I push back my MCAT date?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SeetaRaj

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
My MCAT date right now is July 2nd...

I've already taken the MCAT once before, right after I finished the Kaplan course (August 2012), and voided it because I didn't feel comfortable with the Verbal section. So I decided to wait a while before taking it again, so I was studying on my own and working full time, which started to become really hard, so then I quit my job (in research) and decided to get an EMT license while studying for the MCAT starting February 2013. So while I'm studying for the EMT course, I was simultaneously studying for the MCAT, which was fine, but then I had to take all the EMT exams and practicals, which kind of made it hard to focus solely on the MCAT. Anyways, that whole thing ended at the beginning of May, and I've been taking practice tests and studying hard since then. I'm not scoring in my ideal range right now (high 20s, low 30s), because I'm trying to compensate a semi-decent GPA for a higher MCAT score. Taking all this into account, there are 18 days (including today) before my MCAT, should I take in then, or push it back to July 26th? I'm still unemployed right now, and I'm going to have to start working pretty soon as an EMT since I need to pay off student loans too. What should I do? Plus, I'm retaking physics and cell biology during the summer at UCI, which I think would be beneficial to my MCAT studies. Anyways, if anyone has any advice, I would really appreciate it! :) Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

#1 thing is to not take the MCAT if you don't feel ready. Sounds to me like you're not ready.