Should I retake Chemistry II?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

brighteyes7

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I am considering pharmacy as my future career but I want to plan out my courses before I go into it 100%. I graduated with a 3.6 in Psychology. I don't know what my science GPA is but I do have a C in Bio 2 and Chem 2. I am planning on retaking Bio 2. I was wondering if it would most likely be a good idea to retake Chemistry II or if I should wait and see what my organic 1 and 2 grades come out to be? I still need to take Organic 1 and 2, genetics, and microbiology. I don't think I will be applying this cycle so I should have time to spread out my courses. Should I retake chem 2 first or start with organic and go from there?

Members don't see this ad.

Hello all,

I am considering pharmacy as my future career but I want to plan out my courses before I go into it 100%. I graduated with a 3.6 in Psychology. I don't know what my science GPA is but I do have a C in Bio 2 and Chem 2. I am planning on retaking Bio 2. I was wondering if it would most likely be a good idea to retake Chemistry II or if I should wait and see what my organic 1 and 2 grades come out to be? I still need to take Organic 1 and 2, genetics, and microbiology. I don't think I will be applying this cycle so I should have time to spread out my courses. Should I retake chem 2 first or start with organic and go from there?
If you make As in your remaining classes you may be fine. If you retake those courses and make As, then it will definitely show a better trend, but some programs may average all grades from those courses. Aim high for your PCAT, at least 80th or better composite, with high 90's in your sciences, and a good math score also. Get a job in a pharmacy or patient oriented setting to bolster your relevant experience.