Should I retake O-chem or give up?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Kingstun

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ive done well in all of my chem classes before (A's), there is still a chance i could pull a B in o-chem but my teacher is really tough. Basicly what im asking is, if i can't make at least a B in o-chem should I try to retake it and get an A or start looking for another major. I am carrying a pretty heavy load calc 1, microbio, 0-chem, analytic geometry, and the real toughy speech (jk). On top of all of that I work as a pharmacy tech. 18 hours a week and voulenteer coach for both soccer and wrestling 3 times a week. More to the point finals are coming up and it is possible to make a B, but if I don't should i retake the class?

Members don't see this ad.

No.

I say try your best, take all the required classes, and apply. Just because you don't get a certain letter grade doesn't mean you're not learning the material. Certain professor's ask questions in ways that some people are not good at. However, if you feel like you're over extending yourself with other non-academic endeavors, then maybe you should cut down on those and concentrate more on school.

If everything else is in line with your application, I wouldn't worry about a C in organic.

Ive done well in all of my chem classes before (A's), there is still a chance i could pull a B in o-chem but my teacher is really tough. Basicly what im asking is, if i can't make at least a B in o-chem should I try to retake it and get an A or start looking for another major. I am carrying a pretty heavy load calc 1, microbio, 0-chem, analytic geometry, and the real toughy speech (jk). On top of all of that I work as a pharmacy tech. 18 hours a week and voulenteer coach for both soccer and wrestling 3 times a week. More to the point finals are coming up and it is possible to make a B, but if I don't should i retake the class?