Jul 31, 2016
Hi everyone,
I would really appreciate some critical advice! This could really save me!
My mom passed away my second term of college and I failed three classes, which included Chem, calc, and writing 121.
My first term was a 4.0 and after that I also became my brothers legal guardian and started working over 50 hours a week. I retook chem and failed again due to a deep depression I was in, but eventually got an A in it. I retook the rest and got A's as well. From then on out I have gotten a 4.0 in all my pre recs( except I haven't taken A&P which I will take next term) while having two jobs and a kid to take care of.
My dream is to be a physician and I honestly can't see myself doing anything else, but I don't want to waste my money and hopes on applications if I have no chance of getting in.
Also, I am a pharm tech, a CNA, and a research assistant as well.
I also got a 41 on the MCAT.
Should I give it a shot, or take the PCAT and try pharmacy? I have a family friend who said I can probably get into pharmacy school.
Please give me genuine advice. I don't care if it's not pretty.
Thanks.

JustAPhD

Not a hummingbird expert
2+ Year Member
Jan 5, 2016
Ice Coast
What's your cGPA now? You have a great story and a magnificent MCAT so no, you're not dead in the water. Also keep in mind DO schools practice grade replacement, so the Fs you retook and got As in won't kill your app.

Reactions: Crayola227

raf1ki

2+ Year Member
Jul 10, 2016
Status
Medical Student (Accepted)
I think even with those F's you should be competitive at some medical schools. The worst your GPA could be is what, 3.2? Under the circumstances, I think your grades are forgivable.

OP
H
Jul 31, 2016
What's your cGPA now? You have a great story and a magnificent MCAT so no, you're not dead in the water. Also keep in mind DO schools practice grade replacement, so the Fs you retook and got As in won't kill your app.