Should I take the old or new MCAT? Right near border

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

james392

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently an undergrad junior and am pretty set on taking a gap year after I graduate. My plan was to take the MCAT in early August 2014 leaving me all summer to study for it. I would apply right after I graduate in 2015 for a 2016 admission. But I recently remembered that the MCAT changes in 2015, and the majority of applicants at the time that I apply will have scores from the new MCAT.

Would having a MCAT score from 2014 and an old format score hurt my chances for admission in 2016? I could wait and take the new MCAT in 2015, which would have the plus of making my scores valid for even longer since I'm taking a gap year. However, this route would force me to prepare for the exam during the school year, I have never taken any courses gear towards the psychology, sociology, or behavioral aspect of the new exam, nor would I really know how to study properly for the new format.

Any advice?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm in the same boat as you, but I'm considering 2 gap years (for personal/financial/familial reasons) so the new MCAT is looking nice to me. Everyone I have talked to (admissions staff, advisors, etc) has said that those who take the new MCAT will essentially be guinea pigs because at this point we don't have as much preparation material as we do for the old MCAT. If you have taken the old MCAT, as long as your scores are still valid, I have been told that they will still be accepted for later matriculation.