Should I wait to take PCAT?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kelvin77

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

This is my first post to SDN. I'm in my second semester of pre-pharm classes, and was wondering should I wait until I have completed the Organic Chem sequence before I take the PCAT? Any suggestions or input would really help me out. My advisor said Organic is not on the PCAT, but that doesen't sound right to me. One more thing, does it matter if take some of my science classes during the 5 week summer sessions? Or should I only take science classes during regular semesters?

Kelvin

Members don't see this ad.

I took the PCAT last October... so I was about a month and a half or so into Organic.. and I got a 93 on the chem section. There isn't too much organic.. but there's definitely some on there. Most of it is pretty basic stuff that you would've picked up on within the first few weeks.. if not.. just take your best guess based on your knowledge! Or, you could always buy an Organic review book or look ahead in your textbook if you wanted to be sure.

I think it would be fine to take science classes during the summer... but if you can it'd be better to take them at your regular college and not at a community college.. it would look better on your transcripts. But as for the term, I don't think they care if it's summer or regular as long as it's the same class (same difficulty).

Hello,