Medical Should I write about these experience in personal statement?

Status
Not open for further replies.

GoSpursGo

SDN Chief Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'd like some advice on what to include in my personal statement since I cannot include every experience and patient/healthcare anecdote. Last year I got into an SMP, and will be finishing with a 3.9 gpa and applying this cycle, with my personal statement that included my initial experience that drew me into medicine and the steps I've taken which have solidified that I know I want to be a doctor. The overall timeline is essentially ER volunteer -> EMT -> Medical Assistant with patient interactions that have stood out and why throughout. Since my acceptance I worked as a tech over the summer on a COVID floor in NYC suburb which I have included in my personal statement version as it stands now. This was a pretty intense experience and therefore a fairly long section including patient anecdotes as well as overall team environment in a crisis situation. However since beginning my SMP I have also worked as a contact tracer, volunteered as a crisis counselor and been a research assistant in a COVID study. My question is do you think I should focus on the more recent experience and maybe cut out prior anecdotes. I feel like my timeline is pretty crucial to creating the picture of what drew me to medicine and how I have actively taken steps to making this dream a reality. I want to also display continued engagement in my community hence the contact tracing, RA, and crisis counselor. TIA for any insights!