SIU vs UIC

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

12loser12

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Most of you are probably sick of these threads, but I"ve had to wade through about 400 of them without posting my own so I thought I'd open the debate. Chicago campus is (probably) closed so UIC will be the URP route.

Pros and cons of each?

IL residents or med students at either school be sure to weigh in. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I had to make a similar decision a month ago (UPR track vs. SIU) and I decided, for now, on SIU (My first choice is Penn State, but I'm waiting on SIU's financial aid letter to come in). I think the UPR track is comparable to SIU in terms of facilities, hospitals, class size, culture (peoria, rockford, urbana, springfield are all pretty small more rural towns) etc so I would just choose the one that's cheaper. I'm also a UIUC student and I definitely do not want to be in Urbana for a fifth year. Also, my parents living about half an hour away from Rockford, I know firsthand that Rockford's about as exciting as Carbondale/Springfield. They're both good schools, though. I think if you search, there was a thread about this last year, but yeah. SIU. Just my opinion.

TY WC,

Did you notice any big differences in their cirricululm? I feel strongly towards family medicine and don't mind the rural route but I just hope SIU isn't limiting me to that. I don't want to decide on a different or more competitive residency and have SIU not prepare me for it. Any thoughts?

Members don't see this ad :)
I feel strongly towards family medicine and don't mind the rural route but I just hope SIU isn't limiting me to that. I don't want to decide on a different or more competitive residency and have SIU not prepare me for it. Any thoughts?