So here's my deal...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

12345a

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm transferring into Cal Berkeley as a junior next semester from CC and throughout my research I came to the realization of just how many people are rejected from dental school every year.

I really don't want to do a masters b/c I don't have the money or the time. I really want to get into dental school on my first try. What can I do to strengthen my application? Here is the basic rundown:

-I have a 3.8 oGPA and a 3.6 sGPA
-My major is Psychology
-I've completed my GE's, Major prereqs, and 1 year genchem
-I will spend an extra semester at UC Berkeley and apply 1 year late
-In my extra semester, I plan on doing getting involved in research
-Some EC's include UCSF administrative job, after school teacher, red cross volunteer, started playing violin after I started college..you know the drill
-50+ hours of shadowing

Questions:

-What can I do to make my application stronger?

-Will staying an extra semester and applying a year later negatively affect?
me?

-Even though most DS's encourage diversity of subject, will being a psychology major (which is considered an easier major) make me less competitive?

-I don't plan on taking any upper division science classes and I plan on taking 1 DS prereq each semester, will this light course load hurt my cause?

-Last one and I'm confused...

Fall 09: Orgo 1
Spring 10: Orgo 2
Sum 10: Bio 1
Fall 10: Bio 2
Spring 11: Phy 1
Sum 11: Phy2 (apply)
Fall 11: Biochem
Spring: 12 (Research)

When should I prepare & take the DAT?
Will the research I do in Spring 12 even matter?

Members don't see this ad.

Hey,

Just looking at that schedule, you can change a few things there to get done with the pre-reqs faster and prep for DAT.