Some questions I'm struggling with

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

harsh.boy365

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
(Deleted)

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hi there, I'm a 2nd year dental student in London and stumbled upon a few questions that you guys can probably help me out with :):

1) Pt with GERD who smokes and drinks excess, best advice: Stop smoking and alcohol / treat as h pylori/ urgent scope

Stop smoking and drinking (both increase severity of GERD)

2) Woman gave birth via C-section 42 hours ago, complicated procedure, is now symptomatic with SOB, fever of 39, ....what is it,chest x ray was clear (pneumonia, PE, pneumothorax,amniotic fluid embolism)

Whats most likely wrong with her?

I would say amniotic fluid embolism

3) Which causes red tinted saliva (isoniazid, rifampicin, TB)

Rifampicin

4) Pulm embolus after colectomy and was in pain - options: clop and co dyramole/warfarin and co dydramole/ warfarin & morphine

5) Whilst obtaining a past medical history your patient mentions previous asthmatic episodes. Which one of the following is least likely to indicate the severity of asthma?
  • Degree of chest tightness
  • Degree of interference with normal activity
  • Frequency of inhaler use
  • Frequency of night awakenings
  • Type of inhaler used

Not sure I would say maybe degree of chest tightness

6) Which condition is least likely to cause a malignancy? coeliacs, UC, crohns, psueudomembranous colitis, primary sclerosing cholangitis

Pseudo membranous colitis I don't think c diff is associated with any malignancy that I know of

7) An 80 year old shipbuilder, who has never smoked before, presents at your practice for a routine visit. He is worried about his progressive shortness of breath over the past 6 months. A recent chest x-ray revealed pleural plaques and unilateral effusion. Which ONE of the following respiratory conditions BEST characterises his conditions?