Sophomore Year, Very concerned.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Nicholle

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a sophomore attending a private liberal arts university and am very concerned about my grades. I am a psychology major, human bio and chemistry minor.

Freshmen year I took an introductory to chemistry course and received an A. I also took general biology and received a C and a C-. I received an A in pre-calculus.

This year I am taking anatomy and physiology and have a B. I also have a C+ in general chemistry. I have an A- in statistics.

I have received A's in all of the psychology classes which I have taken.

I have completed 40 hours of shadowing a pediatrician. I am currently volunteering at the local hospital and have obtained 50 hours of volunteer hours there so far.

As it sits right now, how are my chances of getting into medical school?

I am very concerned and truly appreciate any advice/comments. Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

Cs in prerequisite courses don't look good, and may forcast that you won't do well on the MCAT either.

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)
Non-Science gpa = 3.69
Overall gpa = 3.32
Science gpa = 2.96

Sorry about that!

You are right to be concerned.

Median cGPA for those accepted to allopathic med school is 3.65. You need to raise that. Aim to get your BCPM GPA up to 3.3 at least, but obviously, the higher the better. Fortunately, you're only a sophomore and have plenty of time to improve your stats. As you are right now, you have no chance at an allopathic acceptance if you don't change things.

The median cGPA for those accepted to DO med schools is 3.45. That might be an easier target for you to hit.

Your ECs are coming along nicely.

cGPA=cumulative Grade Point Average. Probably the same as overall GPA.

BCPM= Biology, Chem, Physics, and math grades {sGPA=scienceGPA, which DO schools calculate, without the math}