Feb 14, 2020
Status
  1. Medical Student
Hello. I am currently a medical student, but I am pretty certain that I am interested in plastic/reconstructive surgery (specifically burn surgery). However, I am a bit confused about how to go about achieving this goal. I know matching straight into a 6-year PRS residency is so competitive that it might as well be impossible. I was thinking I would take the longer route of completing a general surgery residency first and then a plastic surgery fellowship afterwards. However, if I only want to specialize in burns, would I have to do the entire gamut of plastics? Or could I do a fellowship focusing on burn reconstruction exclusively and still be considered a plastic surgeon? Sorry if this is a dumb question. It's been hard for me to find specific info about this. Any help is appreciated.

OrbitalOverload

5+ Year Member
May 22, 2014
Status
  1. Medical Student (Accepted)
You can do a burn fellowship out of general surgery residency without doing a plastic surgery fellowship in between.

Reactions: 1 user

slowthai

holding a barbell.
7+ Year Member
Jul 11, 2013
In my gaff
Hello. I am currently a medical student, but I am pretty certain that I am interested in plastic/reconstructive surgery (specifically burn surgery). However, I am a bit confused about how to go about achieving this goal. I know matching straight into a 6-year PRS residency is so competitive that it might as well be impossible. I was thinking I would take the longer route of completing a general surgery residency first and then a plastic surgery fellowship afterwards. However, if I only want to specialize in burns, would I have to do the entire gamut of plastics? Or could I do a fellowship focusing on burn reconstruction exclusively and still be considered a plastic surgeon? Sorry if this is a dumb question. It's been hard for me to find specific info about this. Any help is appreciated.

You would be considered a burn surgeon, not a plastic surgeon.