Spending summer in Korea?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ansar

En el camino aprendí
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am a sophomore Physics major, doing research at the moment with a professor. I plan on going to Korea for the entire summer to study Korean (I've been taking Korean since first semester) and teach Spanish (I am a native spanish speaker). Is this a bad way to spend the summer? Or is another option such as SMDEP better to consider? I've been volunteering during my winter breaks.

Thanks,
ansar

Members don't see this ad.

Sounds fine. Is there really a big market for Koreans in Korea wanting to learn Spanish though? I've heard of people going there to teach English but not other languages....

It's a perfectly fine way to spend your summer. See if you can get some experience poking around and learning about how they do healthcare in Korea. It's actually a very interesting system that lent some inspiration to our current system.

Members don't see this ad :)
Is there a glut? From what I've heard, English tutors still command $50 an hour or so.

Is there a glut? From what I've heard, English tutors still command $50 an hour or so.
You can't really call the situation a glut when there is such a high demand. $50's not the normal as the rate depends on reputation. And $50 / hour most often requires having the degree for teaching a foreign language.

Just choose something that you can learn and grow from as well make into a meaningful experience. You have only a few summers left. They are very valuable, so I wouldn't do a SMDEP if you think of it as a "coursework" summer; or teach English if you think it'll be burdensome.

First, Korean's don't care about learning Spanish. I think it will be difficult to teach spanish there. ( I lived in Korea for 1 year)

If you want to teach english, there isn't a glut tutors in Korea, but english tutors are plenty...