SRNAs introducing themselves as residents

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

j bones

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So this is happening now?

Intern on a somewhat disorganized anesthesia elective. I go in the room for induction and there's an SRNA (which I wasn't aware of). Post induction we do introductions, I introduce myself as an intern in my department. He introduced himself as "oh I'm a resident too! Nurse anesthesia resident"

Members don't see this ad.

Intern on a somewhat disorganized anesthesia elective. I go in the room for induction and there's an SRNA (which I wasn't aware of). Post induction we do introductions, I introduce myself as an intern in my department. He introduced himself as "oh I'm a resident too! Nurse anesthesia resident"
Sounds legit

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
In a few short months, he will call himself a residency trained, board certified doctor of anesthesia with a totally straight face. It's the me-too, screw education, intelligence and effort mindset that the elites are using to blur the lines while still causing divisions while they laugh all the way to the bank. The people who will be hurt are the patients while the administrators and insurance companies hide behind our coattails while we take all the blame for their misdeeds.

Everyone and their mothers are doing their best to ape our training in word. Why work hard if you don't have to? Everyone wants to wear a white coat, call themselves doctors and feel like people respect them. Even the floor nurses can do a few day training course they call residency. But the real doctors know who they can actually trust and so do an increasing number of patients.

Reactions: 12 users

Anesthesiology is one of the few specialties where people can declare or imply having superior credentials without getting fired (like they should).

Reactions: 1 users
yes, they even do "fellowships"