St. George's University

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Infamous

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a prospective student - who would like to get some feedback on SGU SVM. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Do you think they will become AVMA-accrediated in the next couple of years?

I applied to Ross this year as a back-up plan. From what I understand Ross and SGU are in very similar situations. From here on I'll mainly be talking about Ross, but again I think they are very comparable.

From talking to alumni and doing some research I believe that both are good options for someone that has exhausted their opportunities at US schools. I, for one, am not convinced that I have exhausted my opportunities and this is why I will most likely not be attending Ross (at least not for another app cycle).

As far as accredidation, according to alumni, they have been saying they are working on getting AVMA accredidation for 10+ years now, so don't hold your breath. But, at the same time, it is getting easier for graduates to practice in the US. There is a relatively new system, PAVE, that is now accepted in 13 states where as long as you pass your TOFEL (yes, even if you have only ever spoken English) and a Qualifying Exam before you begin your final year of clinicals you can take your boards along side US grads directly after graduation. The other system ECFVG requires a clinical exam done after graduation and apparently the backlog to take this test can take months and it costs about $6000.

Also, from talking to grads there is less stigma in the field then many people assume mainly because (particularly Ross) has been graduating 200+ vets each year for the past 15 years. The majority of these now practice in the US, so most vets are friendly with at least one Ross grad.