St. Martinus, is this school legit?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RUJC05

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I keep on hearing about SMU, so I applied to St. Martinus University. However, I found out that SMU was St. Matthews. I feel like such an idiot. Anyway, anybody heard of this other SMU school (St. Martinus)? Is it a good school?

Members don't see this ad.

Dear RUJC05
I am a student at St. Martinus University, Curacao, Netherland Antilles.
Yes our school is legitimate. It's true we are new school but we are growing. I have finshed basic medical sciences and currently preapring for USMLE Step 1. In september many new student are coming probably more than 20. We have clinical rotations in USA at ACGME accredited programs. Currently we have clinicals setup in 3 states, Atlanta, GA, Bridgeport, CT, Maryland, MD. The faculty is excellant, experienced and very helpful. The facilities at St. Martinus are awesome, you will be surprised when you come here. We have all the labs with cadavers, wireless internet 24 Hrs. Library with many books and classrooms with all modern facilities.
Curacao is the best place to live. The climate is so good, cool breeze, well developed, crime free and you can get everything. There are big supermarkets, malls and movie theatre.
We have our own SGA website, you can log on to; www.sga.martinus.edu
You have any questions, please mail me or leave a pm.
Hope to see you soon on the island.

RUJC05 said:
I keep on hearing about SMU, so I applied to St. Martinus University. However, I found out that SMU was St. Matthews. I feel like such an idiot. Anyway, anybody heard of this other SMU school (St. Martinus)? Is it a good school?

The American Association of IMG...www.aaimg.com, lists this school among those with Signficant deficiencies. Here is what they say:

St. Martinus University, Curacao, Netherlands Antilles, 2003