Statisitcs of Jan MCAT vs. August

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Hey All,
I am retaking the MCAT this January after doing poorly this August. My adviser recommended this because I studied so much this summer and also I will just be finishing Physiology, Endocrinology and Biochemistry. He also said that it is possible that I could get the same raw score in January but get a higher overall score because test takers are not as prepared in January as they were in August.
Does anyone agree with him? Has anyone heard of someone getting the same amount of questions right on a different test date but they got a higher score?

Members don't see this ad.

I thought the scales were pre-determined before you even take the test.

I have no clue about exactly how the MCAT is scored, but I have noticed after being on this forum for two years that many who scored lower than expected in August did better in Jan.

Not sure why?

That's why I planned to take it again in Jan but my state school told me I had a decent shot with my current MCAT and all my other stuff. So, I am holding off and working on building clinical volunteering.

Hope it does not back fire. I do not have adequate time right now to prepare for it anyway. I think I would do worse.:xf:

Yeah I think the curve is preset before you even take the test. But I'm taking it in January as well so good luck to us.

Members don't see this ad :)
What about a MARCH test date? Right smack in the middle of the semester, people'll have a hard time studying with all their exams.

From what I've heard, there isn't really anything going for WHEN you take it. Take it when you're ready, not when you think most people'll do bad, thus helping the curve.