Strategies for Informing the Public

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Be a Pro

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I think we should begin a thread to pull ideas together about the best way to inform the public about the importance of the level of training in their anesthesia provider. The public (I believe) wants the best for their loved ones care -- not the cheapest. I think if we can inform the public -- finally, they'll be on our side and will leverage legislators, placing supervision soundly in the physician's domain.

I threw something together -- It may suck and have problems, but I am only an intern trying to brainstorm here. :thumbup:

http://www.google.com/base/a/1554674/D17846812224608148442

Members don't see this ad.

I think we should begin a thread to pull ideas together about the best way to inform the public about the importance of the level of training in their anesthesia provider. The public (I believe) wants the best for their loved ones care -- not the cheapest. I think if we can inform the public -- finally, they'll be on our side and will leverage legislators, placing supervision soundly in the physician's domain.

I threw something together -- It may suck and have problems, but I am only an intern trying to brainstorm here. :thumbup:

Good but you might want to specify what kind of board certified physician you want in charge of the anesthetic.

Yeah....okay. Replace "board certified medical doctor" with "board certified physician" since you are leaving out all the thousands of D.O.s who provide expert anesthesia on a daily basis.

Members don't see this ad :)
Looking good. We need to include something about nurses delivering anesthesia, as most people do not realize that receiving anesthetic care from a nurse is even a possibility.

Many people, in my experience, are shocked and literally horrified when they realize this.