Stressed out first year

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pmpharmtech

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently in my first year and I'm a little stressed out about my learning. Although I have not failed any classes yet, I've done far from spectacular. I'm disappointed that I haven't done better when I know I could. I have some things going on outside of school that have been creating the stress which I feel has not allowed me to fully concentrate. I'm to the point that I've considered asking for a leave of absense and restarting with the next year students. However, I'm concerned how this might look in the future with residency. I want to feel that I've learned what I've needed to as well as feel prepared for Step 1 which I don't feel I'm progressing in that direction. I'm considering counseling but want some perspective on the academics of the decision. Any advice or suggestions? :confused:

Members don't see this ad.

I'm currently in my first year and I'm a little stressed out about my learning. Although I have not failed any classes yet, I've done far from spectacular. I'm disappointed that I haven't done better when I know I could. I have some things going on outside of school that have been creating the stress which I feel has not allowed me to fully concentrate. I'm to the point that I've considered asking for a leave of absense and restarting with the next year students. However, I'm concerned how this might look in the future with residency. I want to feel that I've learned what I've needed to as well as feel prepared for Step 1 which I don't feel I'm progressing in that direction. I'm considering counseling but want some perspective on the academics of the decision. Any advice or suggestions? :confused: