Studying for MCAT during School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cherry~blossoms

Reaction score
Hi, everyone.

I have been thinking about studying for the MCAT while taking on a full class load, and I was wondering if this is possible/recommended.

I'm only a sophomore right now, so I've got a year to go before starting, but I'd like to get an idea of what to expect for next year.

I'm thinking about studying for 6-7 months (after all the prereqs) while taking my required upper-level bio classes.

This is just a general idea/plan, so please let me know what you think.

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

The important thing will be sticking to a consistent schedule for your mcat prep. What constitutes a full course load? 12 credits with one lab and 17 credits with three labs are two different beasts. My advice is to go onto the aamc website before anything else and take a good look at what you're expected to know for the test. Some things will be easy for you and some will be hard. At least for me, it was helpful to start out with the subject I had never taken a class in and slowly go through it several times over the course of my review. You can search for reviews of any of the common review books on here, they all have pros and cons. None of them will cover every single detail you need to know while simultaneously giving you more detail than is necessary. No matter what find a system that works and stick to it.

Good luck! The mcat sucks, but it is only one part of applying. Make sure your gpa/ec don't suffer while prepping.

I don't know what the meta is nowadays. My major was way too intense to afford any time to add MCAT studying on top of the other premed EC's. It really depends on what works for you. If you find yourself with tons of free time then it's obviously doable. But why not just study hard core for a couple of months over the summer?

Reactions: 1 user
Hi, everyone.