Summer Class Dilema

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MishMash

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I'm in my second year of pre-pharm and I will be taking Organic chemistry and anatomy in the fall. This summer I made a huge mistake and decided to take two classes in one summer session. ( Chem and Calculus) Last semester i took pre calculus and i got a C-:thumbdown: Which is the lowest grade I have ever had, I had a 3.7 GPA and now it's gone to a 3.5. It's not that the course was hard, I had a terrible professor. This semester Calculus is driving me insane especially with chemistry which i hope to get a good grade in. The reason why I am doing so poorly in calculus is because it's very very time consuming and I just can't handle it with another class in the summer. At this point if I stay in Calc the highest grade I will get will be a c- or worse! which will lower my GPA ever more. I was thinking about "W" the course and taking it in the fall when it's not so fast and most likely get a high grade. Will my chances be lowered if I take the "W"? I know pharmcas calculates the Math GPA on it's own & I need at least a 3.0 or next to it..

Uhgg What should I do? Please help:scared:

Members don't see this ad.

I'd say take the W unless you already have more than 2 Ws.

Members don't see this ad :)
take the W. when they look at your grades, the only thing they see is that you had a C or lower in calculus. they don't know if you had a terrible professor, if you were sick, or it was too fast. they think it's the same calculus course as everywhere else.

Exacty!

take the W. when they look at your grades, the only thing they see is that you had a C or lower in calculus. they don't know if you had a terrible professor, if you were sick, or it was too fast. they think it's the same calculus course as everywhere else.