Switch to Molecular and Cellular Biology from Engineering?!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Blaughable

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
This is my first post, so sorry in advance if I break any rules. My current situation is as follows:

I'm an engineering student in theoretical and applied mechanics (TAM). TAM requires a lot of extremely hard classes. These classes aren't just a lot of work, but they are heavy in theory, complicated equations etc. I consider it to be possibly the hardest engineering major here at the University of Illinois U-C. I'm doing poorly in my TAM classes and have now realized to get out before it's too late. I've wanted to do medicine since the beginning of sophomore year (I'm a Junior now). I thought I could continue with my TAM degree while doing pre-med. I've been doing decent in my pre-med prerequisites (3.3 GPA) but have shown considerable improvement. However my total GPA is much lower (2.99). I also found out that I only need approx. 36 hrs (2.5 semesters) to graduate in Molecular and Cellular Biology (MCB)

I understand it is not necessary to be a Biology major to be Pre-med. I understand an engineering major differentiates himself and may stand out, however I have no motivation in these rigorous engineering courses and have loved Biochem, Anatomy Physiology, Genetics, Orgo1 etc.

More about me: Hispanic, EMT certified, extensive shadowing and volunteering, on executive board of both a pre-medical hispanic organization and a hispanic engineering society. Love my MCB courses, do well in them. I am certain I want to go to medical school. It's the only thing that makes sense. When I'm in a hospital it just feels right and nothing interests me more than the human body.

I Could really use some input on this decision. Is it wise to switch to MCB? I would also like to know what are my chances of acceptance. I'm taking the MCAT this summer and hope for/expect a +35.