Take old or new 2015 MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

medboy18

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an upcoming sophomore this fall. I have finished all my premed prereq's. I will be applying for medical school towards the end of junior year in 2016... so hopefully matriculating in 2017.

Should I take the old or new MCAT? I have weighed the pros and cons and I am not sure which one to take.

Members don't see this ad.

What are the pros and cons you've weighed?

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
I guess it depends on how confident you feel in the social sciences. I personally would have liked to take the new one because psychology and sociology were interesting and easy for me compared to physics, etc. I think my scores on that section and verbal would have been my best. If you feel better about physics/chem/bio and find social sciences boring, then I'd take the old one.

For what it's worth, friends of mine who had the social science trial section said it was really easy. Keep in mind this was a trial section, so I have no idea if it's representative or not and I can't say for certain how valid my friend's judgment of "easy" is, but just some additional information for you.

As long as you don't want to apply to Indiana or Louisiana then study for the old MCAT. If you are not confident by January then wait. Biochem on the new test is supposed to be hard.

For what it's worth, friends of mine who had the social science trial section said it was really easy. Keep in mind this was a trial section, so I have no idea if it's representative or not and I can't say for certain how valid my friend's judgment of "easy" is, but just some additional information for you.