taking a year off while still an undergrad?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

chocchipcookie

yummy yummy doodlepie
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
i've been thinking about things that i want to do and i think the only way to really make them happen is if i take a year off while i'm an undergrad. so this would probably mean taking a year between junior year and senior year.

i want to do a semester of the disney college program and i want to do a semester of studying abroad. i'm considering these 2 together as being a year off because none of the credits i'll take during study abroad will count at my home school and i don't really get credit through the disney one. i may not even study abroad; i might just live somewhere and do research or volunteering or something for a few months.

i'm already planning on applying to dental school a year or 2 late as is, so timing of applying etc isn't really a big deal. my question is how would dental schools view this? technically they're internships and study abroad, so it IS educational and not just me farting around for a while... thoughts?

Members don't see this ad.

Does your college offer study abroad programs? I have some friends that studied abroad over China and was able to get credit for it. She was a biology major and was accepted into PT school this year. I think if you can still work towards your degree while being able to go abroad it shows you are capable of handling many tasks. I say this because to me it might be hard to get back into studying after a year off. Id suggest finishing off your undergrad then if you want take that year off to casually study, volunteer, and relax. So that what you do get back you wont have to worry about finishing college.

Members don't see this ad :)