Taking DAT and then taking the MCAT????

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

monkeykey

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Has anyone taken the DAT first and then decided to take the MCAT afterwards? Did taking the DAT help you significantly with the MCAT? If so what were your scores on the DAT and then the MCAT. I'm taking the DAT in a week but am considering medicine instead now and any perspectives would be nice! :)

Members don't see this ad.

I didn't take the DAT, but a good friend of mine was studying for it while I studied for the MCAT. We studied together quite a bit and I learned (to a certain extent) what the DAT is like.

It seemed very similar to the MCAT but not as in depth. We termed it the 'MCAT lite'. She had a spatial section that I didn't, but most other areas overlapped somewhat.

I guess the DAT could be somewhat helpful in studying material for the MCAT, but a large part of the MCAT is mastering the test specifics that the DAT doesn't have. One example is that you get a calculator to use in the DAT but not MCAT.

Reactions: 1 user
I didn't take the DAT, but a good friend of mine was studying for it while I studied for the MCAT. We studied together quite a bit and I learned (to a certain extent) what the DAT is like.

It seemed very similar to the MCAT but not as in depth. We termed it the 'MCAT lite'. She had a spatial section that I didn't, but most other areas overlapped somewhat.

I guess the DAT could be somewhat helpful in studying material for the MCAT, but a large part of the MCAT is mastering the test specifics that the DAT doesn't have. One example is that you get a calculator to use in the DAT but not MCAT.

What areas of the science did you find less in depth on the DAT. I've studied probably 350 hours for the DAT at this point and it would be nice if some of that carried over like 100 hours or so towards the mcat.