Taking Organic Chemistry I and II this summer and considering doing volunteering as well

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

yeetus

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a rising sophomore who is going to be taking orgo this summer (as is common with premeds at my school). My class involves lecture every weekday and a test on Tuesdays each week. It will be held online due to COVID-19 and the lab component of it will be held at school during the fall (if school reopens by then).

I'm thinking about doing volunteering at my local Food Bank or at Meals on Wheels but would like to know if doing such volunteering is advisable or if I should be fully dedicated to the class. I'll also be moving to a different state at the end of June though I doubt it will be much of problem as the class is online and the Food Bank/Meals on Wheels operate nationwide.

On one hand the summer class is two semesters of a notoriously hard subject packed into two months and may require full commitment to get a good grade. On the other hand, I were to choose to dedicate all my time to summer orgo without volunteering, that might raise red flags to med schools as signs of slacking off and not helping during a pandemic. I've never taken a summer class before so I'm pretty confused on the matter.

Members don't see this ad.

If you can volunteer and get an A in orgo, do it. If you’re struggling in orgo and need to the extra time to study, prioritize the class.

Reactions: 3 users