Taking Physics II online at a community college over the summer?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kesher

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Here goes: I absolutely detest Physics. It's hard, boring, and its application is limited in medicine. I know it's on the MCAT, but please bear with me.

I took AP Physics B in high school, so I exempted Physics I at my school. I have to take Physics II for my major and as a pre-med requirement. I'm afraid that I won't do well in the class and that I'll literally die of boredom. I'm pretty sure I had mild depression my junior year of high school because of it.

I'm studying abroad in Spain this summer to work on my Spanish minor. During that time, I was thinking of taking an online Physics II class through my local community college. Not to sound cocky, but I'm confident that I would do well in this class as opposed to a Physics class at my school. I know it looks bad to take community college classes unnecessarily, but do you think it would really look that bad? Also, I have the choice of taking algebra-based or calc-based Physics II. Do you think I should take calc-based to offset the fact that I'm taking the class through a community college?

It's also important to note that this is the only class I plan to take at a community college. I will take both O Chems and all of my other hard science classes at my school.

Members don't see this ad.

It's my understanding that pre-reqs. are required to be taken at an accredited 4-year institution.

Do not take any requirements for medical school at a community college or online. Period.

Members don't see this ad :)
Okay.

Consult the MSAR from the AAMC, and look at requirements for schools you would like to apply to. Also check their websites, or even call them.

Some allow CC, very, very few allow online.

Actually, DO NOT do online.

But if one or two at a CC is all you can manage, what can you do.